Our Schools:
  • TAGT Scholarships

    The Texas Association for Gifted & Talented (TAGT) offers gifted students four scholarship options. There are currently four scholarship opportunities:


    Summer Enrichment Scholarships
    Awarded to identified gifted students grades K- 12, who are currently participating in a gifted program and who want to enrich their learning experience during the summer months. The maximum summer scholarship award is $400. Students may use these scholarships to attend programs with an academic, fine arts, or performing arts focus. 

    Laura Allard Future Vision Scholarship
    A $2,500 scholarship awarded to a graduating G/T high school senior who has demonstrated outstanding academic achievement, possesses a strong sense of purpose and clearly defined goals, and has a long-term plan for achieving these goals. 

    Adelle McClendon Young Leader Scholarship
    A $2500 scholarship awarded to a graduating G/T high school senior who has demonstrated outstanding leadership.

    TAGT/SMI Scholarships
    Attend the Summer Mathematics Institute (SMI), a 3-week residential program with an intense focus on mathematics. Sponsored by the Texas Academy of Mathematics and Science at the University of North Texas.  


    To learn more about the scholarships and apply, visit http://www.txgifted.org/scholarships. The deadline to apply for the scholarships is February 26, 2016.


    Comments (-1)
GT Testing occurs once in the Fall and once in the Spring.  Please see GT Specialists for nomination paperwork.


PI Day



The best and most sought after Advanced Academics Program in Texas.


The Advanced Academics Department, in partnership with parents and community, will provide students a premier education, preparing them to be successful, productive citizens.

In the Northwest Independent School District, the Advanced Academics Department provides direction and leadership for K-12 opportunities within the school day and outside of the school day.  Support for the multi-faceted gifted education services include:

Advanced Academics Department

 A Rowell

Audra Rowell
Advanced Academics Coordinator 
Follow me on Twitter @audrarowell94
 Campus Contacts
 High School
 Andrea Lasher  Eaton High School     alasher@nisdtx.org
 Kerry Knisley  Byron Nelson High School  KKnisley@nisdtx.org
 Stacy Fanning  Northwest High School  SFanning@nisdtx.org
 Middle School
 Michelle Blackwell  Gene Pike Middle School  mblackwell@nisdtx.org
 Brandy Brown  Chisholm Trail Middle School  BBrown@nisdtx.org
 Abbey Flores  Medlin Middle School  aflores@nisdtx.org
 Lindsey Davis  Tidwell Middle School  Ldavis@nisdtx.org
 Heather Bjornberg  Truett Wilson Middle School  hbjornberg@nisdtx.org
 Liz Smith  Carl E. Schluter Elementary School  esmith01@nisdtx.org
 Marissa Blattner  Sonny & Allegra NanceElementary  MBlattner@nisdtx.org
 Kristy Schluter  Clara Love Elementary School  kschluter@nisdtx.org
 Rebecca Davis  Haslet Elementary School  rdavis@nisdtx.org
 Cindy Ford   Cox Elementary School   cford@nisdtx.org 
 Rebecca Davis  Hatfield Elementary School  rdavis@nisdtx.org
 Kelly Barrett  Justin Elementary School  kbarrett@nisdtx.org
 Joanna Espinoza  Kay Granger Elementary School  Jespinosa01@nisdtx.org
 Erika Oster  Lakeview Elementary School  eoster@nisdtx.org
 Sandra Champion   J. Lyndal Hughes Elementary School  schampion@nisdtx.org
 Laura Taylor-Dunn  O.A. Peterson Elementary School  ltaylor-dunn@nisdtx.org
 Cindy Ford  Prairie View Elementary School  cford@nisdtx.org
 Stacy Pickett  Roanoke Elementary School  spickett@nisdtx.org
 Carolyn Forbes  Samuel Beck Elementary School  cforbes@nisdtx.org
 Shelly Hall  Seven Hills Elementary School  shall02@nisdtx.org
 Marcie Conrad  J. C. Thompson Elementary School  mconrad@nisdtx.org
 Stacey Polk  Sendera Ranch Elementary School  spolk@nisdtx.org