Skip To Main Content

District Education Improvement Council (DEIC)


The responsibility of the District Educational Improvement Council is to establish and review the district's educational goals, programs and objectives. It shall then advise the School Board or its designee. This committee is made up of teachers, parents, business members and community members and it serves in an advisory role. The DEIC also approves staff development district-wide.

Throughout the year, the DEIC will meet to discuss the District Improvement Plan (DIP). The DIP serves to guide Northwest ISD toward the improvement of student performance for all students in order to attain the state standard in respect to the academic excellence indicators established by the state of Texas. The Committee also meets to discuss and vote on School Calendars, Dropout Prevention Review, Waivers, Student Code of Conduct and other DEIC matters as they arise.

Parents, Teachers, and Community/Business Members are invited to join the committee and/or voted in by their campus staff. Members serve for two years once elected. The DEIC meets at a minimum, three times per year. Other meetings are called as needed throughout the year. During the first meeting, a chairperson is asked to volunteer, or a vote takes place. He/She will present DEIC recommendations before the school board and assist the committee as needed.


The Northwest DEIC includes a teacher from each campus, parents, community members, business members and administrators. Each campus elects the member who will serve a two-year term. Parents, community and business members are suggested and invited to join when there is an open seat on the committee. If you'd like to serve a two-year term on the committee please contact the Superintendent's office at 817-215-0030.

Meeting Agendas and Minutes

2023-2024 School Year

September 13, 2023 - Meeting Minutes

October 24, 2023 - Meeting Minutes

January 9, 2024 - Meeting Minutes

March 26, 2024 - Meeting Minutes

May 14, 2024 - Meeting Minutes

Contact 2023-2024 co-chairs Amberly Tanner, Kevyn Austin or Dr. Griffin if something comes up throughout the year with questions or discussion items.