Skip To Main Content

Hall of Honor

Hall of Honor logo

Class of 2023

The Northwest ISD Athletic Department has announced the inaugural class for its new Hall of Honor, celebrating student-athletes, coaches and athletic supporters who have made exceptional contributions to school programs.

Using established guidelines for each category, the Hall of Honor selection committee has chosen members of the program’s Class of 2023. Members of the Northwest ISD Athletics Hall of Honor Class of 2023 include:

Student Athletes

Brittany Barnhill

Northwest High School alumna Brittnay Barnhill led her Texan softball teams to the UIL state tournament in 2005 and 2006, earning numerous awards throughout her career. In 2007, she was named the Texas Gatorade Player of the Year and Texas 5A Player of the Year, and she earned all-state honors in three years. She went on to play for the University of Texas and the University of Mississippi. She currently coaches the Eaton High School varsity softball team.

Brittany Barnhill pitching softball game

Marty Green

Northwest High School alumnus Marty Green passed for 5,730 yards during his football career for the Texans, throwing for more than 300 yards in multiple games, a rare accomplishment in the 1970s. He was a four-year starter for the Texans in football, also competing in baseball, basketball, and track and field. He led the baseball team to a 2A regional championship, which at the time was the furthest a 2A school could advance. He earned a full scholarship from Texas A&M University for baseball, though he eventually transferred to Pan-American University and was drafted by the Philadelphia Phillies in the third round, though he returned to PAU and never played in the MLB.

Marty Green in baseball uniform

Dustin May

Northwest High School alumnus Dustin May earned numerous accolades throughout his high school baseball career, with the Los Angeles Dodgers drafting the right-handed pitcher in 2016. He has since gone on to win the MLB World Series with the team in 2020. Entering his fifth season playing in the MLB, he is a starting pitcher who has won 12 games with 174 strikeouts and an ERA of 3.10. In 2020, he was the opening day starter for the Dodgers, becoming the youngest player to earn that honor since 1981.

Dustin May holding World Series trophy



Teresa Smith

Teresa Smith supported students and coaches at Northwest ISD for 25 years, beginning as head volleyball coach and assistant track coach at Northwest High School. Her volleyball teams advanced to the playoffs eight times, winning two district titles and multiple top-10 state rankings. Her 1993 volleyball team earned silver medals with a runner-up finish in the UIL 4A State Volleyball Tournament, the same year she earned the Dallas Morning News Coach of the Year. She also served as the Texans’ girls athletic coordinator and the district’s assistant athletic director until her retirement in 2014.

Teresa Smith

Howard Putter

Howard Putter served as the longtime coach of the Byron Nelson Bobcat boys soccer team, leading the team to its 2014 UIL state championship. He started the school’s soccer program in 2011 before retiring a decade later after amassing more than 500 wins over the course of his 35-year coaching career. His 562-181-67 career record ranked him sixth in all-time boys soccer wins in Texas at the time of his retirement. In 2015, the UIL awarded Coach Putter the top honor of the NFHS State Coach of the Year.

Howard Putter



1972 Northwest High School Boys Basketball

The 1972 Northwest Texan boys basketball team earned one of the most illustrious playoff runs in district history, finishing the season with a record of 33-2 and a trip to the 2A Regional Tournament. The team earned district and bi-district championships and defeated defending state champion Hughes Spring High School in the regional semifinal by a score of 105-82. The Texans played in the regional final just a few hours later and lost to Waco Midway by 2 points. The team was coached by Perry Elkins and included Mike Boaldin, Bobby Henry, Craig Lindsey, David McClary, Chris Moncrief, Mark Schluter, Randy Smith, Bruce Steele, Gary Wallum and Randy Wilson.

1972 NHS Boys Basketball Team

2013 Byron Nelson High School Girls Golf

Byron Nelson High School’s girls golf program earned Northwest ISD’s first UIL athletic title when the 2013 varsity team won the UIL 4A Girls Golf State Championship. To win the championship, the Bobcats surpassed Montgomery, which had won 11 of the 12 previous 4A girls state golf titles. Throughout the year, the Bobcats were consistently ranked either first or second in the 4A state poll. Coached by Barry Hawkins, members of the team include Alexandra Batista, Zoey Daneshfar, Aimee Mires, Maty Monzingo and Allyson Springer.

2013 BNHS Girls Golf Team



Val and Kandy Franklin

Longtime community members Val and Kandy Franklin raised two children who graduated from Northwest High School and have five grandchildren who graduated from Byron Nelson and Eaton high schools. Val served as president of the Northwest Athletic Booster Club for five years, with his wife Kandy serving as an officer. They raised funds for all Texan athletic programs, ran concession stand operations, organized and printed game programs, and much more. Both Val and Kandy also served on the district’s Long-Range Planning Committee that led to the construction of Byron Nelson High School and Northwest ISD Stadium.

Val and Kandy Franklin

Gary Prescott

For more than 28 years, Gary Prescott served the students and staff of Northwest ISD with an unwavering commitment to athletic programs. He began his tenure in 1987 as an assistant football coach at Northwest High School before leading the team for five years, though he is widely known for his work in the athletic department. Coach Prescott retired from Northwest ISD as the district’s director of athletics in 2018 after 39 years in public education.

Gary Prescott