Skip To Main Content

Senate Bill 9 (SB 9)

Senate Bill 9 (SB 9) of the 87th Texas Legislative Session requires school districts to offer curriculum to students in the prevention of child abuse (elementary & secondary), family violence (elementary & secondary), dating violence (secondary), and sex trafficking (secondary). Parents/caregivers must provide consent before their child can receive instruction in the specified topics. Without opt-in consent, students will be unable to participate in the lesson(s).   

With guidance from the School Health Advisory Council (SHAC), Northwest ISD has approved the curriculum that will be used for the different grade levels. The curriculum is provided by and facilitated through a community partner, Alliance for Children: A Children’s Advocacy Center. Parent/caregivers may preview the curriculum as indicated below.

Senate Bill 9 (SB 9) Curriculum

Elementary Curriculum

Happy Bear, P.S. It's My Body, MBF Safety Matters

Happy Bear

1st Grade

2nd Grade

3rd Grade

4th Grade

5th Grade

Secondary Curriculum

MBF Safety Matters

In middle school and high school, the learning objectives are the same for grade levels 6-8 and the same for grade levels 9-12. All middle school students will receive the same lesson(s) and all high school students will receive the same lesson(s). 

6th - 8th Grades

9th - 12th Grades


Contact Jamie Farber, Director of Guidance & Counseling, at or 817-215-0187.