Skip To Main Content

Legacy Wall inaugural class announced

Legacy Wall

At their August 22 meeting, the Northwest ISD Board of Trustees unanimously approved the inaugural class of the Legacy Wall, honoring individuals who have left a positive mark on district students and serving to inspire teachers and staff to do the same.

Located in the Legacy Learning Center, the Legacy Wall honors the heritage and history of Northwest ISD’s community. The nomination process for the first honorees on the wall opened in July, providing community members with the opportunity to submit individuals for consideration. Consistent with facility naming criteria, individuals were only considered if they were no longer living.

A committee recently met to review the community’s submissions and nominated the proposed individuals for recognition to trustees for their final approval. For consideration, a nominee had to meet all the following criteria:

  • They have lived within Northwest ISD boundaries at some point during their lifetime
  • They were affiliated with the district as a teacher, staff member, graduate or community member
  • They left a positive impact on students in Northwest ISD
  • Their attributes aligned with the values set in Northwest ISD’s mission, vision and beliefs

Trustees approved all five committee-recommended inductees for the Legacy Wall, including:

  • Mehran Aghili: In his role in Northwest ISD, Mehran Aghili oversaw construction and played a major role in providing students with high-quality facilities. He also supported student programs and was willing and eager to work with engineering students to provide feedback on their plans.
  • MacKenzie Dunckelman: As a longtime Northwest ISD student and Eaton High School graduate, MacKenzie Dunckelman was part of the first class of the Horizons program in the Legacy Learning Center. She was known for her smile and laughter, which was infectious and drew everyone to her.
  • Mays Fuqua: As a Northwest ISD educator of more than 30 years, Mays Fuqua was known for his ability to do anything and everything in the education field to help students. He was active in the ag program and later became a counselor and assistant superintendent.
  • Dennis McCreary: As assistant superintendent for facilities, Dennis McCreary set the model for Northwest ISD schools. He was known for setting an expectation of excellence in district buildings to give students the best learning environments possible.
  • 1949-1950 School Board: Honored as a group, the first Northwest ISD Board of Trustees set the foundation for the school district as it exists today. Their leadership paved the way for students to have tremendous opportunities thanks to the larger scope of Northwest ISD. Members of the first school board include: Leo Adams, Claude Calvert, F.A. Cowart, V.R. Eaton, John D. Faught, O.A. Peterson and J.C. Thompson.

These individuals will receive plaques on the Legacy Wall during the Legacy Learning Center’s formal dedication ceremony in September. Family members of those recognized will have the opportunity to speak in remembrance of each honoree.