Skip To Main Content

NISD high schools in same district after UIL reclassification

NISD high schools in same district after UIL reclassification

The University Interscholastic League announced the tentative 2024-25 and 2025-26 football, basketball, and volleyball district assignments on Thursday, February 1, dividing schools based on their total school enrollment.

Byron Nelson High School, V.R. Eaton High School and Northwest High School are all set to play in the same 6A athletic district for the next two years. This will mark the first time that all three Northwest ISD comprehensive high schools have competed in the same district.

As a result of the realignment process, Byron Nelson and Eaton high schools will remain in the same 6A district with Northwest High School now joining them. The three schools are scheduled to compete in District 4-6A for the next two school years.

Joining the three NISD schools in District 4-6A are Euless Trinity, Hurst Bell, Keller, Keller Central, Keller Timber Creek and Southlake Carroll.

UIL Region 1 District 4-6A (2024-25, 2025-26)
Football, Volleyball and Basketball
  • Byron Nelson
  • Eaton
  • Euless Trinity
  • Hurst Bell
  • Keller
  • Keller Central
  • Keller Timber Creek
  • Northwest
  • Southlake Carroll

The cutoff point for Class 6A for 2024-25 and 2025-26 was set at a student enrollment of 2,275 or more. 

Eaton submitted Northwest ISD’s largest enrollment estimate for the 2024-25 school year at 3,262 students. Byron Nelson submitted an enrollment estimate of 2,892 students, and Northwest submitted an estimated enrollment of 2,550.

To view all 2024-25 and 2025-26 UIL districts as part of the biennial realignment, view the information on the UIL’s website.