Skip To Main Content

Record-setting eight NISD teams advance to Destination Imagination Global Finals

Record-setting eight NISD teams advance to Destination Imagination Global Finals
Destination Imagination Logo

On Saturday, April 13, students from all over the state arrived in Arlington, Texas, for Lone Star Finals, the state-level Destination Imagination Tournament. Thirteen teams from Northwest ISD were invited to participate after outstanding performances at the GFW DI Regional Tournament in February. Over 500 teams in total came together to complete in one of six challenges.

The top six teams in each challenge and age group advanced to Global Finals, making an ever-increasing field of difficulty.  Students from Daniel Elementary, Granger Elementary, Lakeview Elementary, JC Thompson Elementary, Adams Middle, Medlin Middle, Worthington Middle, Byron Nelson High School and Northwest High School competed in both the central challenge and instant challenge at the tournament.  

A record-breaking eight NISD teams scored in the top six of their challenge to advance to Global Finals in Kansas City, May 22-25. There they will participate in the world’s largest celebration of creativity and problem solving. Congratulations to the below teams.

To learn more about Destination Imagination, visit

Northwest ISD Destination Imagination Global Finals Qualifiers

Team Name Campus Challenge State Results Team Members Team Managers
Fire Breathing Rubber Ducks Byron Nelson High School Blast from the Past  1st-High Instant Challenge Score Annebelle Hoffman
Jonah Hoffman
Will Koch
Zoe Tsapos
Haley Lentz
Nikunj Gupta
Aaron Reisman
Diane Tsapos
Golda Hoffman

Bacon on Deck

Lakeview Elementary School Uncharted  3rd Camden Trotter
Carter Ceman
Crosby Fine
Victoria Duet
Liam Hicks
Kim Fine
Take 5 Medlin Middle School Uncharted 3rd Wiley Baxter
Skylar Fine
Sydni Johns
Nick Stowe
Nicholas Scroggins
Jennifer Scroggins
Laurie Baxter
Wabbits Lakeview Elementary School Blast from the Past 4th Leela Cherian
Mary Kuhn
Jackson Andrews
Emmett Gentrup
Cooper Morace
Isabella Martinez
Catherine Robinson
Meagan Morace
Caitlin Andrews
The Snacks Are Back! JC Thompson Elementary School Blast from the Past 5th Dillon Appiah-Amponsah
Bryce Furlow
Kai Marvin
Hailee Rockwell
Rebekah Shoemaker
Arabelle Smith
Alicia Ward
Marcie Conrad
Lance Conrad
Average Joes Byron Nelson High School Going the Distance 6th Shabbeer Zaki
Sofia Santiago
Jacob Baxley
Taylor Myrick
Carter Fine
Snehal Gupta
Nicholas Golden
Hope Santiago
Futuristic Frozen Flurries Granger Elementary School So Extra  6th Mateusz Grabda
Sawyer Elmer
Harper Werenka
Cadence Robinson
Jaskirat Singh
Amelia Ringe
Brisa Elmer
Socks-n'-Crocs Worthington Middle School In Motion 6th Conner Martin
Marissa Morgan
Aubrey Weldon
Camdyn Reich
Heather Martin