District names Teachers of the Year, honors other top staff
District names Teachers of the Year, honors other top staff
Posted on 04/17/2017
This is the image for the news article titled District names Teachers of the Year, honors other top staff

Northwest ISD announced its Elementary Teacher of the Year and Secondary Teacher of the Year at its recent Inspire Celebration, a ceremony to honor the district’s top teachers and staff for the year.

Thompson Elementary School’s Ashley Mooneyham earned Elementary Teacher of the Year honors, while Medlin Middle School’s Julie Hinshaw earned Secondary Teacher of the Year honors at the seventh annual Inspire Celebration on Thursday, April 13. Both teachers will now advance to the Region XI Teacher of the Year competition, where finalists will be chosen in elementary and secondary categories to advance to the state competition. In addition to these overall district winners, each campus honored its Exemplar Educator for his or her leadership, motivation and effectiveness in the classroom.

On the support side, the district recognized its Employees of the Year for their contributions to Northwest ISD, ensuring the district functions efficiently. Both teachers and staff who have been with the district for 25 or 30 years were also honored, as were recent retirees.

The Inspire Celebration serves to recognize Northwest ISD’s dedicated educators and support personnel for their valuable contributions to students and district community members. This year, about 600 people watched as the exemplary teachers and staff members were honored at the Speedway Club at Texas Motor Speedway.

Northwest ISD’s 2017 Exemplar Educators

  • Carla Gamache, Beck Elementary School
  • Tiffany Holland, Cox Elementary School
  • Kelsey Wallace, Granger Elementary School
  • Jamie Kercheval, Haslet Elementary School
  • Chelsea Dullye, Hatfield Elementary School
  • Emily Rivera, Hughes Elementary School
  • Charlie Garrett, Justin Elementary School
  • Sarah Montes, Lakeview Elementary School
  • Crystal Williams, Love Elementary School
  • Kim Spring, Nance Elementary School*
  • Rayna Anderson, Peterson Elementary School*
  • Karla Granillo, Prairie View Elementary School
  • Kelley Ramsey-Valdez, Roanoke Elementary School*
  • Elizabeth Smith, Schluter Elementary School
  • Susanna Craig, Sendera Ranch Elementary School
  • Marisa Tindel, Seven Hills Elementary School
  • Ashley Mooneyham, Thompson Elementary School*
  • Yari Kemp, Chisholm Trail Middle School*
  • Julie Hinshaw, Medlin Middle School*
  • Patricia Lutkenhaus, Pike Middle School
  • Holly Duesterheft, Tidwell Middle School
  • Andrea Driver, Wilson Middle School
  • Bryan Combest, Byron Nelson High School
  • Rae Jean Johnson, Eaton High School
  • Jeanette Jones, Northwest High School
  • Keith Smith, Steele Accelerated High School
  • Rick Ford, Denton Creek

*Designates Teacher of the Year Finalist

Northwest ISD also recognized its three Employees of the Year, who were nominated by their co-workers and selected by a committee.

Northwest ISD’s 2017 Employees of the Year

  • Audra L. Joyce, Instructional Support Employee of the Year, Seven Hills Elementary School
  • Wilma Adams, Administrative Support Employee of the Year, Seven Hills Elementary School
  • Kevin Garcia; Support Services Employee of the Year; Facilities, Planning & Construction Department

The Northwest ISD Board of Trustees and administration also recognized 17 retirees.

Northwest ISD 2017 Retirees

  • Bethany Abbott, Medlin Middle School
  • Jennifer Beedlow, M.Ed., Wilson Middle School
  • Linda Cesak, Granger Elementary School
  • Jack Denton, Medlin Middle School
  • Carolyn Forbes, Beck Elementary School
  • Barbara Jo Hardy, M.Ed., Chisholm Trail Middle School
  • Dayna Horak, Steele Accelerated High School
  • Gail Jaynes, Peterson Elementary School
  • Pamela Kemp, Chisholm Trail Middle School
  • Sheri Ortiz, Northwest High School
  • Mirk Reyff, Chisholm Trail Middle School
  • Betty Roberts, Northwest High School
  • Marcia Scales, M.Ed., Love Elementary School
  • Nancy Shuster, M.Ed., Beck Elementary School
  • Cindy Slye, Granger Elementary School
  • Shirley Wagner, M.A., Special Education Department
  • Karen Wiechman, Communications & Community Relations Department

Northwest ISD desires to recruit and retain highly motivated staff. At the Inspire Celebration, the district honored its 25-year and 30-year service award recipients – individuals who have experienced the successes and fast growth in Northwest ISD over the years.   

Northwest ISD 25-Year Service Award Recipients

  • Larry Driskill, Wilson Middle School
  • Karla Lavigne, Hatfield Elementary School
  • Trina Mooneyham, Technology Department
  • Philo Waters III, Ed.D., Eaton High School

Northwest ISD 30-Year Service Award Recipient

  • Bethany Abbott, Medlin Middle School
  • Karen Smith, Curriculum & Instruction Department